Faculty & Staff


10th Anniversary


Student leaders from 25 campuses honored for community impact

North Carolina Campus Compact has honored 25 students selected by their campuses to receive a 2016 Community Impact Award. Eighteen of the recipients were recognized at the CSNAP Student Conference held recently at UNC Asheville.


1st row (L-R): Yanez, Leeper, Wilson, Gillette, Gladney, Nelson, Page, Yarbough, Woodson / 2nd row (L-R): Garcia, Myhand, Tesoriero, Slater, Fukunaga, Pittman, Cherry, McKenzie

The 2016 Community Impact Award winners are:

Appalachian State University – Evan Montpellier
Evan is a senior geography major from St. Catharines, Ontario.

Bennett College – Kaylah Stevenson
Kaylah is a senior business administration major from Philadelphia.

Central Piedmont Community College – DaQuane Cherry
DaQuane is a second year marketing student from Elizabeth City.

Davidson College – Nate Casey
Nate is a senior religion major from Tega Kaye, South Carolina.
Read more about Nate.

Durham Technical Community College – Kevin Garcia
Kevin is a second year student from Chapel Hill majoring in recreation management.

East Carolina University – Lekisha Pittman
Lekisha is a senior family and community services major from Jamestown, NC.
Read more about Lekisha.

Elon University – June Shuler
June is a senior from Zuoz, Switzerland, who is majoring in public health studies and policy studies.

Fayetteville State University – Jerrin “Giselle” Grant
A senior criminal justice major, Giselle is from Greensboro, NC.

Guilford College – Mamta Gurung
A third year student majoring in accounting, Mamta’s hometown is High Point, NC.
Read more about Mamta.

High Point University – Ebony Gillette
Ebony is a senior business administration major from Laurel, Maryland.
Read more about Ebony.

North Carolina Central University – James Yarbough
James is a senior from Mebane, NC majoring in public health education.

North Carolina State University – Ashle Page
Ashle is a senior majoring in chemical engineering from Raleigh, NC.

Pfeiffer University – Molly Huber
Molly is a sophomore criminal justice major.

Queens University of Charlotte – Margaret Nelson
Margaret is a senior from Ahoski, NC majoring in political science and sociology.

UNC Asheville – Amanda Slater
Amanda is a senior majoring in new media from Cary.
Read more about Amanda.

UNC Chapel Hill – Jashawnna “Shawnna” Gladney
A senior, Shawnna is a global studies major from Thomasville, NC.
Read more about Shawnna.

UNC Charlotte – Sean Myhand
A junior, Sean is a computer science major from Charlotte, NC.
Read more about Sean.

UNC Greensboro – Joshua Leeper
A senior from Washington, D.C., Joshua is majoring in African American and African Diaspora studies.
Read more about Joshua.

UNC Pembroke – Erin Tesoriero
Erin is a sophomore chemistry major from Charlotte, NC.
Read more about Erin.

UNC Wilmington – Elise Wilson
A senior history major who will join Teach for America next year, Elise is from Norfolk, Virginia.
Read more about Elise.

Wake Technical Community College – Kelly Suggs
Kelly is a first-year nursing student at Wake Tech.

Warren Wilson College – Emily Odgers
Emily is a senior majoring in anthropology/sociology from Northampton, MA.

Western Carolina University – Joanna Woodson
Joanna is a junior from Monroe, NC majoring in social work and Spanish.
Read more about Joanna.

William Peace University – Yaqueline Yanez
A first-year student majoring in criminal justice, Yaqueline is from Morganton, NC.

Wingate University – Trevor McKenzie
Trevor is a senior mathematics major from Ocean Isle, NC.
Read more about Trevor.

View a list of past winners.

This entry was posted in Engagement Matters Blog, News. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.