Faculty & Staff


10th Anniversary


Do awards matter? Engaged faculty and staff inspire, lead, and build the field


ECU’s Dr. Rebecca Dumlao, 2013 Sigmon Service-Learning Award Winner, with Duke’s Dr. Betsy Alden, the inaugural winner, and UNC’s Dr. Rachel Willis, the 2007 recipient, and ASU Chancellor Kenneth Peacock.

A Nobel Prize, an Oscar, the Robert L. Sigmon Service-Learning Award… awards matter! These honors signify individual excellence and tangible accomplishments, they raise the profile of important work, and they broaden support for similar – and even more ambitious- endeavors.  They also inspire others working in the civic engagement field to persevere and excel.

On every one of our 37 member campuses, exceptional faculty and staff devote years – even careers – to developing programs, curricula, and community-based partnerships that advance student learning and create positive change. Part of our work at NC Campus Compact is sharing their stories and recognizing their achievements within North Carolina and beyond. But we need your help. You can give something back to an outstanding faculty or staff member by nominating him or her for one of our statewide awards. Winners are recognized at our annual PACE Conference.

Recent faculty winners include Dr. Rebecca Dumlao of East Carolina University (2013), UNC Greensboro’s Dr. Spoma Jovanovic (2012), and Dr. Della Pollack of UNC Chapel Hill (2011).

The Civic Engagement Professional of the Year Award (CEPY) recognizes a staff person at a member college or university for outstanding efforts to institutionalize community engagement; support faculty, students, and community partners; and create a culture of service on campus. Recent staff winners include Ms. Elaine Madison (Duke University, 2013), Mr. Aubrey Swett (UNC Pembroke, 2012), and Ms. Mary Morrison (Elon University, 2011).

Acknowledge and celebrate the work of engaged faculty and staff on your campus by submitting a nomination to the Sigmon Award (for faculty) or the CEPY Award (for staff). All nominations must be received by NC Campus Compact by 5 PM, January 10, 2014.

If you have questions about the awards or nomination process, please contact NC Campus Compact’s Associate Director, Leslie Garvin at lgarvin(@)


This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.