Faculty & Staff


10th Anniversary


2013 engagement awards presented at PACE


Chancellor Harold R. Martin

North Carolina Campus Compact announces the recipients of three prestigious, statewide awards. Dr. Harold R. Martin, Chancellor of NC A&T State University; Dr. Rebecca Dumlao, Associate Professor of Communications at East Carolina University; and Elaine Madison, Director of the Community Service Center at Duke University, are honored for outstanding contributions to campus and community. The awards presentation is a highlight of the Compact’s annual PACE conference on community engagement.

Chancellor Martin receives the Leo M. Lambert Engaged Leader Award for his commitment to creating and sustaining efforts that deeply impact community and campus. Named in honor of Elon University’s president, the Lambert Award is given annually to one North Carolina college or university leader. The honoree is nominated and selected by fellow presidents and chancellors whose institutions are members of the Compact. Among his many achievements since becoming A&T’s 12th chancellor in 2009, Martin helped create, along with Chancellor Linda P. Brady of the University of North Carolina-Greensboro, the Joint School of Nanoscience and Nanoengineering; and he was recently appointed by President Barack Obama to the Board for International Food and Agriculture Development.


Dr. Rebecca Dumlao

Dr. Dumlao wins the Robert L. Sigmon Award, which recognizes a faculty member for significant contributions to the practice of service-learning, a pedagogical strategy that links community service to classroom study and reflection. NC native Robert Sigmon helped pioneer the approach in the 1970s. For fifteen years, Dumlao has been instrumental in integrating service into the Communications curriculum at ECU, and she has shared her expertise with other faculty on her campus and in the state through her work chairing a campus-wide service-learning committee, as a contributing editor of the Partnerships journal, and through the development of web-based service-learning modules.


Elaine Madison

Duke University’s Elaine Madison is the 2013 Civic Engagement Professional of the Year. The award recognizes a staff person at a member campus for efforts to create and institutionalize a campus-wide vision of service, support the engagement of faculty and students, and form innovative campus-community partnerships. Madison, Director of the Duke Community Service Center and Associate Director of Duke Engage, has played a key role in advancing Duke’s commitment to service and engagement. One nominator declared: “More than any other person… [she] is responsible for the growth and institutionalization of civic engagement on our campus.”

North Carolina Campus Compact recognized each award winner during the opening session of its annual PACE (Pathways to Achieving Civic Engagement) Conference, held at Elon University on February 13th. Over 275 faculty, staff, students, and community partners  from 44 campuses and 10 states participated in the day-long event. Dr. Peter Levine delivered the keynote address and Dr. Judith Ramaley delivered closing remarks. In between, 33 workshops and presentations explored topics ranging from assessing the impact of service-learning on college students to building campus community partnerships that serve high-risk elementary students.

These awards are presented annually, and the Compact issues a call for nominations in late November. The deadline for submitting a candidate is early January. Only individuals from a North Carolina Campus Compact member institution can be nominated.

Started in 2002, North Carolina Campus Compact builds the capacity of colleges and universities to produce civically-engaged graduates and strengthen communities.

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.